Dragging My School Into the 21st Century

Posted on May 28, 2008

2


Yesterday was our last day of school. It ended in a whirlwind, and now, my thoughts turn–not toward some rest and recharge time as they should–but toward my loooong list of To Do’s. My R & R is coming Friday when I head to Florida to spend a week at the beach. I have many miles to trek before then.

One major undertaking–one that has been draining my time and keeping me from blogging as often as I would like–is the launching of the 21st Century Learning Community (21clc) at my school, which I proposed and agreed to lead.

At first, I was bubbling over, thinking how I was going be the catalyst to bring real change to my school. My excitement turned to bewilderment as I began to plot a course. Where would I begin? Who would be involved? What would we do? What equipment would we need? How would we pay for it? I had more questions than answers. I turned to the blogosphere and started reading voraciously,which I’ve done over the past couple months, searching for answers, for paths tried by other schools. I’ve discovered many people are asking the same questions I’m asking. Unfortunately, there is no magic bullet, no golden apple, no sacred cup. Instead, there are various meandering paths leading to differing degress of success, none without bumps, hurdles, and obstacles.

Now, I sit here–as I have been over the last few weeks–struggling to synthesize the gazillion ideas my research has landed me. The sheer volume of information online is both a blessing and a curse. I understand the stuggle our students face. Finding, evaluating, synthesizing, and then creating requires major brain power.

I need another cup of coffee. Our first 21clc meeting is tomorrow! I’ll be writing more about the specifics later. Wish me luck.

 

