Consuming Information in the 21st Century

Posted on March 21, 2008

0


**Note:  This is a model for an ePortfolio entry demonstrating mastery of some of the NETS for Students Standards. When finished, I’ll have an ePortfolio page that will contain a link to this post. To improve navigation, I suppose I’ll also need to include a link in this post back to the ePortfolio page.

This year, I’ve realized the power of technology to improve my learning and connect me with other learners around the world.

Google provides two particular tools that allow me to consume masses of information from an array of sources in a quick fashion: Google Reader and iGoogle.

  • GoogleReaderiGoogle allows me to personalize my homepage to create an efficient workspace where I can easily access all my frequently used Web tools and sites (like the class wiki, my blog, my e-mail….), scan the daily headlines, and read the RSS feeds from the blogs and websites to which I subscribe.
  • Google ReaderGoogle Reader allows me to read all my RSS subscriptions from one location. By scanning a number of articles from an array of sites spread across the Internet, I can consume a ton of information very quickly. Rather than visiting each site, scanning all the pages for new information–I’m able check only my mailbox where all new content has been delivered. Google Reader allows me to archive articles I want to save by simply starring them. I can also share these articles with others with a few simple clicks.

These two tools improve my efficiency as a lifelong learner and demonstrate my mastery of the following NETS for Students Standards 

  • Students use technology tools to enhance learning (Standard 3)
  • Students develop positive attitudes toward technology uses that support lifelong learning. (Standard 2)
  • Students are proficient in the use of technology. (Standard 1)

       

