Blogging Professional Development

Posted on January 16, 2008

0


Over the past couple years, I’ve struggled to find a format and platform I really like for my ePortfolio. What I’ve created so far is in a wiki format. I actually created much of it using FrontPage then pasted the HTML code into the wiki “Source” view.

Now, I’m leaning toward using the blog. Arkansas Teacher Licensure requires teachers take 60 hours of “professional development” each year and that they submit documentation of required hours for license renewal. Keeping track of these can be a daunting task. Blogging these learning experiences would be much more beneficial than simply listing the workshops attended. Reflecting on the learning, synthesizing new concepts with the old, brainstorming ways to apply new ideas–these are essential habits of effective teachers.

By creating a professional development category, using the workshop title for the post title, and reflecting on the learning within the post, teachers can create a digital record of their professional development and a model of lifelong learning for our students.

Why didn’t I think of this before now?

Posted in: Reflection