Tagged: What a Way to Discover Other Bloggers!

Posted on May 7, 2008

1


Dana Huff tagged me for a meme, a new concept for me. My immediate response was akin to getting a chain letter–not a good response to say the least–but, the more I explored the chain of links in the meme (from Dana to Clix to Richie to Edna) the more cool blogs and fellow teachers I discovered. I’m certain I would never have discovered Clix, Richie, and Edna had it not been for Dana tagging me.

Reaching out to a larger community, finding fellow educators, forging collaborations is what makes blogging beneficial, exhilirating, and rewarding. So, I’ve decided the meme too is beneficial and a bit fun. Here’s to reaching out, finding fellow educators, forging collaborations!

First, I am supposed to post the rules:

  1. The rules of the game get posted at the beginning.
  2. Each player answers the questions about themselves.
  3. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5-6 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read the player’s blog.
  4. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.

OK, so now the questions.

What were you doing ten years ago?

Having taught five years previously at a different area school, I was finishing my first year at Southside High School, a rural district in Arkansas. In those days I was teaching English 10 and Oral Communications.

What are five things on my to-do list for today (not in any particular order)*

  1. Finish grading the timed essays my AP students wrote so that we can discuss them in class today.
  2. Select and copy student essays to serve as models for other students.
  3. Plan professional development (60 required hours in Arkansas) and turn in form for approval from my district.
  4. Locate sample ePortfolio rubrics to share with students as they collaborate to design a rubric for the ePortfolios they are creating.
  5. Sign up for my 20 minute “Spa Day” session, the session my principal is providing all the teachers! What a guy!

What are some snacks I enjoy?

  • Russell Stover Sugar Free Chocolate Pecan Clusters 
  • Mixed Nuts (with not so many peanuts)
  • Coffee (Hazelnut flavored is my favorite)
  • Unsweet iced tea–Sonic Route 44 being my absolute favorite!

What would I do if I were a billionaire?

  • Give the first tenth to my church.
  • Create an endowment to fund mission trips at my local church.
  • Create scholarship endowments.
  • Perhaps, I could create an endowment to raise the Arkansas teaching salary so we could recruit and keep quality teachers (how far would a billion go?)
  • Invest wisely and live off the interest
  • Teach part-time AP English and teacher workshops–or maybe start my own non-profit organization that works with schools to embrace 21st century learning
  • Okay–I’d blow some of it on materialistic stuff!

What are three of my bad habits?

Only three? Hmmm…

  1. Drinking too much coffee.
  2. Not getting papers graded and back to students fast enough (I do procrastinate a bit, but mostly, there seems to be too many papers and not enough hours in the day.)
  3. Getting bogged down by things I can’t change; I’m quite the visionary–sometimes to my own demise!

What are five places where you have lived?**

  1. Arkansas
  2. Arkansas
  3. Arkansas
  4. Arkansas
  5. Arkansas

Pitiful, heh! 

What are five jobs I have had?

  1. Cinemagic:  The kid behind the counter checking out video rentals (they were all VHS then!)
  2. Linnie’s Optique:  Helping people select frames for their eyeglasses, stocking shelves…whatever else she (Linnie) needed.
  3. English Teacher: at four different schools–all in Arkansas from grades 10-12
  4. Financial Advisor: During a brief period of teacher burn-out, I tried–but didn’t last long–another career.
  5. Educational Consultant:  I’m designing and delivering educational workshops across my state.

What five or six people do I want to tag?

As Dana said, no pressure here to participate, so I hope none of these people get annoyed with me!

Posted in: Reflection